My love/hate relationship with living alone

Ravneet Kaur
4 min readOct 8, 2020

It's been one year and four months of living alone, from serving myself a glass of wine on bad days to happily dancing my heart out on good days, I have had my days. A few years back I was living with my family, moved to a college two years later and then moved to another city for a job. In all these phases, I had a group of best loving people around me. My day used to kick off with my best friend waking me up forcefully in the morning to ending up with complaints of the boss over a slice of pizza and drink.

My younger self would never have managed without the most amazing people around me, but my older self has started falling in love with the new phase of solitude.

First few months are never easy

Even though the idea of my own personal space was very thrilling, but it went away after two months. Remember when you come home and there is your friend sitting at the couch and you rant about “You know what happened today..”, well that hits hard. There is no match of comfort in hugging your best friend after a rough day. But oh boy! You can always pick your favourite music, get naked and wiggle in the house 😉 That helps too!!!!

Confusing, uncomfortable but peaceful

--

--

Ravneet Kaur

Space Engineer 🌌🛰🚀👨‍🚀 STEM Activist 🔬♀️ A backpacker with a purpose. 🥾